

Program Review Committee Meeting March 1, 2024 11:30 - 12:15 p.m. Zoom

Minutes

<u>Attendance</u>

- ☑ Begay, Sheena
 ☐ Begay, Shawna
 ☐ Billiman, Lorencita
 ☑ Prince Boahene
 ☑ Dekelaita-Mullet, Dianna
 ☑ Dey, Arup
 ☑ Fowler, Henry
 ☐ Harrison-Woody, Tilda
 ☑ Nelson, Sharon
 ☑ Roastingear, Anita
 ☐ Storer, Chris
 ☑ Tall, Meriem
 ☑ Tom, Brenda
 ☑ Vellingiri, Anusuya
 ☑ Wheeler, Jennifer
- I. Call to Order 11:30 a.m.
- II. Attendance
- III. Approval of Agenda Motion to approve by Dr. Fowler, seconded by Prince
- IV. Approval of AY24 Summary Report (Prince)

Prince presented the highlights from the Summary Report. Dr. Dekelaita-Mullet asked to update the Score Sheet on p. 5 of the report to show check marks in the last column. Dr. Fowler motioned to approve the Summary Report, Dr. Dekelaita-Mullet seconded the motion. The committee voted unanimously in favor of approving Summary Report. The report will be presented to the President's Cabinet in April.



V. Discuss/vote on separating reviews for programs that exist at more than one instructional site

The committee discussed the advantages and disadvantages of separating program reviews across instructional sites. Some of the disadvantages: (1) defeats the university's mission, (2) adds additional time and work for the PRC, (3) makes it more difficult to maintain program consistency, (4) prevents program faculty from learning from one another. The committee members agreed that it would be advantageous to continue combining program faculty across sites, and in the future, will stress the importance of sharing the work and communicating, when there are multiple advisors within the program.

VI. Choose the top three Reviews for AY24

The committee assigned scores to each program using a rubric, and selected two first-place programs, and a second-place program. The winners will be held confidential until the committee presents their cash award and certificate during Fall Convocation.

VII. Program Review Chairs/Members for AY25

Dr. Dekelaita-Mullet and Dr. Wheeler have co-chaired the PRC for two years; according to the Faculty Handbook, committee chairs serve a term of two years. Dr. Dekelaita and Dr. Wheeler will both step down as chairs. None of the current members volunteered to chair the PRC, although all of the current members present at today's meeting agreed to continue on as members. We will advise Dr. Agbaraji to choose a new chair (or chairs).

VIII. Other items

Dr. Dey suggested that the committee allow all Presentation attendees to participate in the selection of the Program Review awards. We will discuss and vote on this at our next meeting.

IX. Adjournment - Adjourned at 12:16 p.m.